• Folu Writes
  • Posts
  • 11 Practical Strategies to Eliminate Distractions and Boost Work Efficiency

11 Practical Strategies to Eliminate Distractions and Boost Work Efficiency

Confessions of a Phone Addict: My Road to Recovery

Introduction

I have a problem.

I'm an addict.

I struggle with social media addiction.

However, it was much worse before.

I would tell myself that it was the last post I was checking but scroll a little more.

Three hours gone, and I'm still grinning like an idiot at my phone.

I felt like crap.

I lacked motivation for almost everything else.

I spent longer hours finishing my job.

What made it worse was that my freelancing job as a book reviewer meant I only had to work when I wanted.

Also, the same distracting phone was an important work tool.

Plus, social media was the platform I used to promote my music.

But instead of posting and leaving, I would check the next post and become stuck indefinitely.

I can't count how many times I've uninstalled Instagram and WhatsApp only to install them again.

Though everything looked good on the outside, I felt dead inside.

My motivation, drive, and enthusiasm were depleted.

I needed to feel alive again.

Fortunately, I snapped out of my funk and became more conscious of my addiction.

I realized that having a cigarette with you from morning to night is an obvious addiction.

But for some reason, phones are not seen in the same light.

Because the constant dopamine release fills your brain with a kind of high that makes everything else draining and unattractive.

And it's not only phones.

Almost every gadget with a screen that displays media is potentially addictive, from phones to computers and TVs, etc.

Negative Effects of Social Media

1. Increased Anxiety

We all know bad news circulates faster than good news. It's the same on social media. Also, we see people all the time, and we humans are naturally wired to be jealous or focus on what we don't have. Imagine what seeing one friend building his family and watching another build his business does to someone who has neither. He probably wants to have what the two friends have immediately while still maintaining his free, alone time, not knowing you can't have your cake and eat it too. There's a cost for everything. Staring at people all day makes you linger too long in a state of wanting and feeling empty. These are enough reasons to be anxious.

2. Lack of Motivation for or Interest in Everything Else

I once read a research article that mentions sex is declining among the youth. In general, physical activities and social gatherings become less attractive with constant phone communication. Our generation probably has more nerds and socially awkward teens than at any time in history. Personally, I used to have game in university but lost it all after a couple of years of online hustle. I suffered from a lack of motivation for chores and several goals I planned to work on. I wasn't always this way, though. It started with heavy phone usage.

3. Caring More About What Strangers Think About You Than Your Loved Ones

I posted pictures and shared with the world before I shared with my family. I've had more shallow, short conversations with people I only talked to for a few days than spoken to my cousins. Growing up, several of my relatives used to come over to see us yearly. I haven't seen any of these people in 5 years. We have exchanged deep, close connections for multiple, shallow connections. I don't think this is healthy for social beings like us. Chatting with a phone is the watered-down version of speaking to a person in person. We are rapidly becoming computerized and zombified since we stare more at screens than faces. Even Apple CEO, Tim Cook, pointed out that phones should not take priority over human connection. Actual smiles and therapeutic facial features are exchanged for mind-numbing numbers, letters, and emojis.

4. Physical Health

Mental health is an obvious problem. However, physical health is also affected by phones. We are sitting on our butts more now than at any time in history. And it's evident by how many people are overweight today. We eat too much because we sit too much. We sit too much because gadgets are too addictive. And social media addiction probably has a positive correlation with addiction to junk. Being in a bad condition mentally and physically is bound to reduce your work efficiency. What's an engine that's clogged with oil and rusty likely to produce compared to a brand new engine? We need to see our bodies in this light. Lighten the load by decluttering mentally and physically. I believe the widening gap between the rich and the poor is linked to increased addiction to gadgets. While the masses watch and consume endlessly, the rich are busy plotting and making sure the poor don't look away. Consequently, money keeps flowing increasingly from one end to another.

Recovery and Strategies

Like I said before, I snapped out of my phone addiction considerably. "How did I snap out of it?" you ask. I started watching myself from an outside, out-of-body viewpoint and structured my life like an engineer. I took note of everything I could and tried different things. I also found suggestions in the books and online content I consumed (ironic, right?). I feel more motivated to do several things now, including chores, work, and physical activities. My game got better, and I connected with a beautiful and intelligent partner. You can also transform your life to experience abundance and exceed limitations. You can get that dream job, achieve that dream lifestyle, and find that dream partner. First, you have to get rid of today's number one mind-killer: addiction to media consumption on gadgets. I'll show you how in 10 steps.

1. Spend More Time Outdoors or in the Sunlight

There's something about the sun; it charges you up like solar energy, especially when it's not excessively consumed. My craving to check Instagram is much less when I use my phone for work outside than when I use my phone indoors. My favorite spot is a botanical garden with trees. I also love chilling on my veranda in the early morning or in the evening. The cool breeze of the night and the large space counteract the pull of addiction to my phone effectively. Also, a brightly lit room mainly illuminated by sunlight is the next best thing. From the feel of soil under your feet to the warmth of the sun on your face, the Earth's elements are magical and a necessary part of what makes us whole. When we disconnect from these elements for too long, we don't function properly physically and mentally. In essence, spending more time outdoors is a great way to counter phone addiction and focus on work.

2. Take a Shower, Preferably with Cold Water

Cold water has been linked to increased blood concentrations of dopamine. Staring at your phone endlessly has a lot to do with low moods. When you shower with cold water, you not only feel better but also feel more excited about your goals for the day. I have experienced this several times, and it's something I will always recommend. Just washing your face with water can do wonders.

3. Sit on the Floor. No Walls.

Sitting in a comfortable position allows you to scroll for hours. But sitting in an uncomfortable position will push you to stop wasting time because the pain you feel will counter the dopamine you get from scrolling on the phone endlessly. Another tip is choosing not to use your phone in your bed or on your couch, hence becoming a couch potato.

4. Join a Social Club That Compels You to Do Something at a Specific Time

It's crazy to believe you will always make the right choice on your own. We are social animals, and a highly compelling phenomenon that we can tap into is other humans. I dance salsa and play basketball at set hours of the day, mostly in the evenings. The desire to see regular faces and have physical fun (not what you're thinking; get your mind right) with them compels me to finish my job fast. When I used to spend the entire day working, I achieved less: reviewing one book in two days. When I started embracing outdoor events, I started reading and reviewing two to three books per day. The excitement and responsibility of committing to a fun event with other humans reflected in my level of focus and drive.

5. Setting Impossible Deadlines

Elon Musk is famous for giving impossible deadlines and pushing his employees to achieve seemingly impossible feats. That must be one of the reasons he's the richest man in the world. It makes sense because, as Parkinson's Law states, work expands to fill the time you've given it. I used to take more than a whole day to write a review of about 280 words. When I started telling myself to reduce it to 30 minutes and using my Samsung's stopwatch, I accomplished it faster. Although I still wrote the reviews and edited them in two or three hours, I enjoyed the challenge of trying to meet the 30-minute challenge. It became a game instead of a long drain. Being time-conscious and setting an impossible time for every task can be quite useful for working effectively.

6. Get an Accountability Partner

According to Wikipedia, an accountability partner is someone who helps another person keep a commitment or maintain progress on a desired goal. Surround yourself with go-getters. Though I have an accountability partner, they're not always around. Still, we help each other immensely whenever we're around each other. It's best to have your accountability partner around you physically so they can check on you and remind you to stop scrolling aimlessly when you're on your phone.

7. Get Two Phones

I have a small phone that's for writing. I have another that's dedicated to social media. When I'm on my writing phone, the social media phone is in another room. This helps me resist the urge to check another post while writing.

8. Take Breaks

Even though you feel you have a lot to do and don't want to stop, you can get stuck on something or stay longer on a problem when you don't take breaks. I've taken breaks and gotten back to quickly find a better way to phrase a line I was writing. As someone who used to take breaks to play games and watch movies, I don't advise those. I prefer something more creative, like making music, or physically engaging, like strolling. I realized I got back to my writing feeling drained after playing a game. A break could also mean a nap, a relaxing massage, or a conversation with a friend (preferably physical or non-text).

9. Take a Walk

Don't overlook walking, taking a cold-water shower, or engaging in any other physical activity that is likely to boost your mood. I used to believe in being at home all day until I asked myself, "How many animals do you find sitting around all day?" Even if they are, it's not in a cave devoid of sunlight and every other living thing. It's like we go the extra mile to live dead lives. When I realized this, I said, "no more!" I don't care if I can make an extra buck by staying at home; I must go out or do something physically demanding, at least, for a few hours every day. I don't go to the gym because I think it's expensive and excessive. You have to be more intentional about what you eat to replace the calories you burn. But I believe my physical activities, like strolling, dancing salsa, and playing basketball, are enough.

10. Reduce Listener Fatigue

I used to write with loud music playing on my JBL Flip 5. Then I noticed I worked faster and longer without playing music. When I researched the cause, I discovered there's something called listener fatigue. Consequently, I have stopped playing music while working, and I've never felt more productive. However, I think it's not all professions that will benefit from less noise. Writing requires heavy concentration. If your job is to make burgers in a relaxed environment, music might help you enjoy your work.

11. Start the Day on a Productive Note

Don't wake up and immediately reach for your phone. You should probably switch it off or keep it in another room, not by your bed. If you start the day by getting things done and continue getting things done, you will have more determination and focus because it's been building up throughout the day. This is why I never set fun activities for the morning, except when I wish to sacrifice the day. Most of my fun activities are in the evening. Like with muscles, when you exercise your mind, focus, and determination, you become stronger. It's not just applicable for a day's work; it's applicable for long periods, from weeks to months and years. This is another reason why the rich get richer and never stay broke in most cases. Look at focus and productivity with a mindset that considers longevity as a worthwhile goal.

Anything can be misused, including gadgets. We can reduce our productivity with them or be less productive with them. Being conscious of how productive we are with gadgets is a great way to stay in control because what works for you may be different. Your mind is important. I am rooting for my mind and yours at the same time. Let's stay productive and escape the internet matrix as much as possible. However, remember to be compassionate and forgiving when you find yourself staying longer on social media than you planned. All the best on your productivity journey.